Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1)

Image result for a darker shade of magic gif

A good book checklist for A Darker Shade of Magic:
A Pirate ✔
Humor ✔
Sass ✔
Magic ✔
Mystery  ✔
Adventure ✔
More books in the series ✔
Amazing characters ✔

Yep! It checks all the boxes!!!
Can I just say that this book was SO SO SO SO SO AMAZING!!! I loved it to the moon and back. Even looking at the cover before reading it made me think, oh, I’m going to love this, I know it. And I was right all along. 

I just can’t get over thinking how I didn’t have the brain to read this book before, along with A Gathering of Shadows & A Conjuring of Light. Well, anyway, even if it hadn’t happened before it should’ve, IT’S GONNA BE HAPPENING SOON.  

I love the whole mysterious part to the story. All the London’s and the pirates and the magical things happening randomly. It all makes the perfect story. 😍

Goodreads Summary:

Kell is one of the last Antari—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black.

Kell was raised in Arnes—Red London—and officially serves the Maresh Empire as an ambassador, traveling between the frequent bloody regime changes in White London and the court of George III in the dullest of Londons, the one without any magic left to see.

Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.

After an exchange goes awry, Kell escapes to Grey London and runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She first robs him, then saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.

Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they’ll first need to stay alive.

Doesn’t that just sound awesome???
Yes. Yes it does.


 Calliaph

I have to say that I didn’t think I would like Kell. Looking back now, I WAS PROBABLY VERY STUPID. Kell is AMAZING. And plus I love his coat. It’s a coat, but seven* coats, now how cool is THAT?
DSCN5984
*I think it’s 7 coats, isn’t it???

 Calliaph

I loved Lila from the start. Like, WHO COULDN’T? She’s a pirate. And that’s on my checklist for a good story, so… I like it. Lila seems kind of fearless. If that’s the right word to use. Lila’s all for: knives, magic & adventure. And that is my kind of person. Well, in a book I mean. I’m not too keen on the knife thing in real life…


 Calliaph       Calliaph

My Rating:

5 stars


Book Review (4)

  • Have you read this book?
  • Do you think it’s amazing?
  • Who’s your fav character?
  • Do you like reading V. E. Schwab’s books?

Thanks for reading, Nicole (1)

6 thoughts on “Book Review: A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic #1)

  1. AGH REGRETS! I was just at the bookstore today, and couldn’t find it (too lazy) so I just stayed in the YA section and bought ACOMAF and All the Bright Places. I wasn’t sure I would like A Darker Shade of Magic, but honestly what was I THINKING?! All I’ve read is reviews about the amazing-ness of the book! Should I buy it or try to get it at the library? Is it one of those books you recommend buying because it’s worth the re-read?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this series! It’s fantastic. The characters are amazing, and the world is so exciting. Schwab is such a wonderful writer. I think I enjoyed the second book even more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

